Spellbinding stories of mystic love and soulful hope . . .

a little stretch, and as well this helps strengthen my back

a little stretch, and as well this helps strengthen my back if I hold this position with control

stretch up, and sit back

stretch up, and sit back – I will six back even more to strengthen legs/glutes

Writers sit a lot – too much. It’s what we do.  We need to move our bodies, strengthen and stretch them. It won’t be any easier as you age, so what are you waiting for? Work on that novel, story, essay, poem, fiddle on social networking, do your research, but please, y’all, take care of your bodies! I am 55 and while I am showing signs of aging that I can’t control, I take care of myself so that what I can control I do. Get up off that chair, or wherever it is you work, and MOVE!

With a little imagination and a couple-bucks (and that visit to the doctor you should do before starting an exercise program!), you can find ways to alter your workout, at the gym or in your own home. I bought this piece of tube at the local hardware store and use it in my workouts–for strengthening, stretching, and as well, you can roll it along your spine for a mini-massage (just do not roll on your lower back!).

Balance and control, you can go further down with this (I often do) but be mindful

Balance and control, you can go farther down with this (I often do) but be mindful

The tubing offers lower back support, if needed

The tubing offers lower back support, if needed – notice I roll it up in the mat (I am going to glue matting to it for a permanent solution

I will also put a weight inside the tube and use that to do strengthening exercises, though in these photos I did not do that. Just be careful that you watch what you are doing, and exercise with control and your full attention.

Warm up for at least twenty minutes–I do an hour on the treadmill at varying degrees of mid-to-high intensity. Start off slowly, build to a frenzy, and then do a cool-down. While you are still warm, head to the mat to stretch and strengthen your body. Flexibility, endurance, and strength helps in the bedroom, too – just say’n, y’aaaaalllses!

work on flexibility - but make sure you are warmed up!

work on flexibility – but make sure you are warmed up!

You can do the same moves without tubing

You can do the same moves without tubing

Music of the day for a high intensity cardio session — this version I do is a bit over seven minutes long, but there are shorter versions if you can’t keep up a high-intensity session for seven minutes. I’ll mix in some jogging with my jittery jumpy hopping flailing about when the music slows a bit.

Now! GO!

Comments on: "Work-out Writer: Equipment from your local(or chain) hardware store? Why not . . . ?" (6)

  1. You look like a teacher of exercise…..good going and great to emphasize your message!

  2. johnrailtime said:

    Had a friend that did curls so he could look good at the bar bending his elbow. Now off to the local hardware store for a box of screws. Lost mine….. hehe

  3. karenselliott said:

    Every once in a while I think about flexibility. Not enough, though! I have often tried yoga, stretching on the floor, etc. I think I should add this to my home program. This weekend, I plan to add an exercise bike (yup, right in the living room) to my routine. Thanks for the inspiration, Kat.

    • Just be sure to warm up really well before stretching – that’s the lesson I learned well – A nice long warm up will help keep from injury during stretching!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,667 other followers

