Bat Boy the Musical: A Diary. YAAY!

Thought of the Day: The average human eats 8 spiders in their lifetime at nightEeyew. I like how they added "at night" as if that explains they weren’t eaten on purpose…huhn.
 
Last night went great! Our director, Mark Jones, was smiling! Oh what a difference a day makes from Tuesday night, when Mark look as if he could throttle us. What an exciting night last night was. The energy was there. We knew most of our moves, not having to "call for lines" as much, the songs went smoother, the changing of sets and scenes were smoother. It was a late night, but a good one.
 
Clementine would be proud of me, all of us. When I messed up, I still tried to stay in character. ("I surely am proud of you, and I am proud of all you – y’all done a good job. I’m gone wrag Beattie’s neck and fry her up t’celsabrate!) There were times I had to fight hard not to laugh at some of the scenes. That’s going to be hard. ("Jes think on something bad – like them spiders crawling down ye throat and into you belly. Or that chicken kill in Tennessee….Dang. thas nasty.)
 
Tonight we put on our costumes, or at least a portion of them – like our dresses and the guys overalls or whatever and see how that works out. Margaret of the Powerhouse voice and I have tight tight bodices, so we’re anxious to see if we can move in them, and that they don’t rip – eek! (Hehehehe. "I likes that dress. One my fav-rites. I done the square dance in it and the jittery bug when my daddy din’t knowd about it. Daddy’d bust my hide if he knew I was dancing, but I sneakedted off and danced and danced and danced. Oh, I still do me some jiggitity jiving!")
 
Now, I have company, so I’m going to close this by saying – wish us luck with rehearsals tonight. Next week is Tech Week – which means we’ll have light and sound and orchestra…new distractions! But, things are looking up. Opening night is close upon us. ("Hey! Miz kathryn, you needs a chicken for you’s com’pny? I can wrang Josiebelle’s neck whilst I’m wranging Beatties neck. Josiebelle is a fat hen. One my fav-rites, but for you Miz Kathryn I’ll give her true.") ….that’s okay Miss Clementine…quite okay. … really…not necessary.
 
"Oh! You speaking to me? I done have to be in no parenterthesis like this ( ) ? I can speak right out like this. Even though that Doc down there in the commentals done said he were worried. Wale, tell him he sure is a sweet one…hehehe. I like Doc a mite, I do. hehehe. Handsome and innerlectu-al. And where them others done gone of’t to? Where’s they gone?"
 
People are busy Clementine. And I haven’t been by to see them for a few days, either.
 
"This here inner-net is strange. Gone visit people without leaving the house? Huh. Never seen the like of it."
 
Say goodbye Clementine …
 
"Goodbye Clementine. hehehe."
 
By the way, I’m changing the music frequently now – Comfort and Joy is one of my favorites, and the longest. We are the voices in Parker’s head, then we’re exploding on stage, then we’re at a meeting, then we’re ghostly figures again when Bat Boy is singing. It’s a really cool scene and song. Tootles, as Clementine would say.
 
Theater Word of the day: Backstage Hand – the hand that goes towards the back of the stage and not the audience…Instead of what I was doing for days upon days heeheehee.
6 thoughts on “Bat Boy the Musical: A Diary. YAAY!

  1. Tight costumes are usually made of stretch material right?  Otherwise, you wouldn\’t be very comfortable moving about. On to tech night! Sounds like the show is coming together and I very excited for you. It\’s great that you are so obviously enjoying the experience and able to share it so articulately.

  2. I\’m delighted to experience vicariously your excitement and pure fun in being part of this production.
    Happy Easter to you and yours,
    J.

  3. you part of a stage show . how exciting that must be . the preparation is always more interesting than the show itself. hehe. i wish you all the best Kathryn.

  4. Love reading about Bat Boy and the characters. You\’re having a ball, huh? Wish I could be there! What in the world are you gonna do with all that free time once the show\’s finished?  Hugs, Angie

  5. We eate 8 spiders in ourlife time? I cant remember that when did happents? have you tests of spiders?
    I hope that I never had in mylifeLOL! I hope you can singing with tight dresses??
    It seems you had Happy Easter for you too,  there back to your JOB to do ….
    Michiko  
     

Comments are closed.