Bat Boy the Musical: A Diary. SHOWTIME! AT LAST IT’S HERE!

Thought for the day: Why didn’t I make more flattering photos of myself? Why must I be so goofy looking? Why must I be wearing unflattering clothes during photo-taking? Why must I grin so hard my neck cords lizard out? Why must my forehead butt show? Why didn’t I pose in a flattering pose as to make myself look better? Why did I sqrinch up my eyes like that? Why did I wear that sweater over that shirt-it looks stupid and makes me look thick in the middle when my waist is my smallest part?, other than my pea head, that is haw! Why why why don’t I ever take a decent photo when I’m not mugging and making a face and making myself look weird? Why why why? *sigh*

 

OPENING NIGHT was Friday! I tried to get in here yesterday to tell you all about it and MSN was being a Bee-otch and wouldn’t let me post.

 

First! A thanks to Rachel for filling in as sound person last night – she did a GREAT JOB! Whooohooo *clap clap*

 

Opening night my stomach was all a-twitter and jitter. All we girls were in the dressing room talking and laughing and putting on our make-up and costumes. I’ll say again that the camaraderie is one of the things I will miss. I felt such a part of something and that was cool as hell. Then, our director, Mark Jones, said, “You are one of us now…You are a natural…” and that made me feel so good. I did feel a part of everything—I felt as if I had something to offer.

 

Opening night audience was wonderful! First, it was a good-sized crowd, and second, they responded like a dream: laughing, sighing, responding, applauding, and at the end, standing ovation! As Act I progressed, I noticed my nervousness eased and I just did what I was supposed to do. I made a few goofs, but no one seemed to notice or care. Saturday night I didn’t make the same goofs and did smoother, and although I was still nervous, the nervousness didn’t linger. Saturday’s crowd was wonderful too, and we are getting more audience than expected for this time of year in the little mountain town.

 

Opening night had such energy to it; not that last night wasn’t full of energy, it’s just that opening night feels so magical and special. I’ll never forget it. The energy, excitement—all of it will remain locked in my memory.

 

Clementine got some laughs! And the funny thing is, those laughs came from “mistakes” in the scenes that came during rehearsal when I had to "ad-lib" and then just stuck because they seemed to work. First, the one where Clementine shakes her butt and does her jig in the revival was when during an earlier rehearsal, Jackie forgot to dance with Clementine, so she just made up her jig and Mark liked it, so it stayed—and people seem to like it, Haw! Then, the other thing is when Clementine scampers down the aisle to go out the doors of the theater with the rest of the townspeople; well, one rehearsal Clementine couldn’t see the bottom step and so was trying to get down and all the rest of the townspeople were way ahead of her, and I had to stay in character as Mark taught me, so she hurried down the aisle saying “wait up! I’ll wrang that bat boy’s neck I will…wait up y’all” and all this stuff, and again, the director liked it, so it stayed, HAW! And the audience liked it, haw haw haw. I guess I’m more of a ham than I thought I was – or Clementine is anyway.

 

By the way, Clementine will be back probably tomorrow. She’s at church right now, but MADE me tell you all she will be here later to say howdy.

 

The Opening Night went so well; everyone did such a dang good job. It was just as everyone said, that everything would somehow just work out—and I’ll be danged if that’s just what happened…near flawless! Afterward, there was food in the lobby, something they do for Opening Night. They always serve food that goes with the theme of the show—and for Bat Boy that was Fritos, BBQ, hushpuppies, etc. We changed out of our costumes on Opening Night and joined the audience to have wine, beer, whatever, and some food. Last night, I kept part of my costume on and went out to join any audience members who came to greet the actors—yes! We love that! If your theater has that, go  back and greet the actors and tell them you enjoyed the show…we do like it (I said “we” haw!) From now on, I will do this, because now I understand it.

 

Oh! AND! I got flowers! First, my friends in Indiana sent me Break a Leg flowers, then Francis gave Charles and me a beautiful rose, then Roger came to the girl’s dressing room and brought my favorite flowers: sunflowers. I felt like a princess. The feeling of opening night, I can’t stress enough, is like none I’ve ever felt. It’s almost enough to make me want to give up the lonely life of writing, the life of rejection and feeling as if my writing is not making a difference, as if my writing isn’t …isn’t….I don’t know…but, I know I’d be unhappy if I didn’t write, still…I get the attraction to acting in theater…*grin* (PS – and I want to make the distinction that I mean my fiction writing or essay writing outside of this blog! For all of you have been more than supportive of my writing – you all have been wonderful – and I feel as if I DO make a difference when I read your comments about my writing and writing life – just so you know how I appreciate that – and that my disappointment is in other areas of my writing life! *smiling at all of you!*)

 

Opening night I had to really concentrate, at first, not to look at the audience, I tried instead to look at some point over everyone’s head – most numbers that was easy, but a few numbers I could see the audience in the front rows and I had to make sure I didn’t look at anyone—I succeeded, but a few times it was close! Last night, Saturday, it was much easier to ignore the audience. But, when we’d hear the audience laugh or make a sound or comment, it is joy joy joy to us – do not be afraid to respond! When we’re off stage listening to the acts we are not in and we hear the audience respond, we turn to look at each other with big arse grins…we are happy! Don’t hold back your enthusiasm! The audience actually is an Entity – yes…the audience is a part of the play, an energy, a force – you as the audience are more than you think – you aren’t just bodies sitting there – you are IMPORTANT to us! We’ve been waiting for you, needing you, wanting and desiring you.

 

Last night, Saturday, went great too. I heard several actors say “they weren’t feeling focused” but I thought everyone did a wonderful job. We were all a bit tired, and the break for the next few days before the next performances next weekend will give us some needed rest to re-charge.

 

I will say again – please support your theater. Go to the plays. Laugh, respond, sigh, cry, applaud, give the actors your love and support. They(we!) work harder than you may realize. I know I didn’t realize—oh, I knew they worked hard, but how hard, how much time and effort and love and intensity I could never understand until I was there myself. At the end of the performance as we are standing there and then exit, then come back on in stages to ready for our “bow” – we see all your faces out there and we hope that we have pleased you, entertained you, made you love us. Show us your love.

 

Theater Word of the Day: Standing Ovation: of which we received Opening Night and Saturday Night…wheeeee!

 

A review will come out on Wednesday….eek! Hope it goes well!

 

An article on Bat Boy: Take 5 Asheville  

10 thoughts on “Bat Boy the Musical: A Diary. SHOWTIME! AT LAST IT’S HERE!

  1. Dear Kathryn,  Bravo!  Bravo!  Bravo!  You made it through the entire process and are better for it.  I am smiling.
    As ever be well.
    Stephen Craig Rowe

  2. awesomeness! way to go, ms. kat-clementine!
     
    i\’m so glad you\’re having such a great experience. i bet this means you\’re going to do another one, aren\’t you??? (it kind of makes me want to go audition for something, too.)
     
    wish i could have seen the final product.

  3. clap clap clap whistle whistle…. woo hoo
    It finally happened… it all came together and it was wonderful!
    I can only imagine how exciting it was for you .. Well done Kat
    Of course flowers..deservingly so :)
    Barb

  4. WOW! what relived to hear that everything WENT OKAY…A little mistakes nobody noticed ha ha ha
    You felt like a princes thats good news ..you might wanted to keep it up and sametimes you can writting too…
    I believed in the writting is more used your imagination?  if you can do both you would have an exciting life???
    Have a good rest,
    Michiko

  5. First and foremost, your pictures are devine. You see the flaws, we see an actress. Thanks for sharing.
     
    Congrats on your first two shows. What a heady time, all your hard work finally available for all to see. Don\’t take the standing ovation lightly; you and your team done good. Kudos!

  6. Bravo!
    We have an intermission at our theatre with cups of refreshments and cookies. Let me know how you feel on the last night.  That is usually the show i get tickets for.  I hope that the  actors give thier all because its the end.  Let me know if i\’m right.
    :)

  7. Congratulations, clappings, and woots!  Now that you have breathed your sigh of relief, I will too.  Now that you\’re pleased, I am pleased with you.  Now that you\’ve lived through the experience and had fun at it, I might even consider doing something out of my usual rut.  Perhaps I\’ll take an ultimate risk and see if I can cook an egg or something.  Way to go, Kiddo.  *grin*Peace, Doc

  8. what a pleasure to read!  You and the cast were a rousing success and I sincerely wish I had been there to see it all.  A moment all of you have been working so hard toward and now…your stage feet are firmly planted and the audience loves it…not surprisingly.  I have enjoyed reading the journey getting you all to this point…the fruit of your hard labors.I also got a smile out of your first lines regarding photos of yourself.  There are not too many of we women who don\’t say or think similar things.  I know *I* do.  That\’s why I smiled.  You looked wonderful and was that Clementine I saw just at your right shoulder?  :-)

  9. Sounds reall good . a writer and an actor as well. wow!!!! Ive done some theatre when i was way younger and i know how it feels. when you are backstage there is a bundle of knots and you step onto the stage and it just disaapears. there was htis one time i got so carried away by the audience i totally missed my cue. i was sitting and taking the audience in. the phone was rining and i was supposed to pick the phone and say my lines and i just sat there lookking at the crowd . Luckily the crowd did not realise the goof up as another artist timely made up lines. and hinted me to pick the phone up. bu tit was funny you know . my first reaction to the made up lines was hey thats not part of the script oh shit shes forgotten her line and then it dawned on me that i was the one who forgot LOL.

  10. I have tried for four days to get msn to let leave a comment on your blog.  It won\’t let me reset my password – so here is my comment and you can post it on your blog."Missus Clementine ROCKED! She was on every minute she was on! But her best dang bit was as the dang bat-attacked girl. Do you get to keep that costume? franke"

Comments are closed.