Stephen Gyllenhaal’s momma

I am interrupting Clementine to tell you all I received an email from Cantara Christopher that Stephen Gyllenhaal’s mother has passed away. I have never personally met Stephen face to face, but I interviewed him for Rose and Thorn and he is a lovely gracious man – beautifully talented, yes, but more than that. I do not know what it is is like to lose one’s momma, for I still have both of mine- my biological and my adoptive mothers. Keep him in your thoughts, if you will? It doesn’t matter how well-known you are, or never known by many at all – losing one’s momma has to be a lost in the woods feeling, the world becoming a bit bigger and smaller all at once…is one then half an orphan? What void does a momma-less world leave?
 
Here is a poem Stephen wrote about his mother – it’s in his beautiful book of poetry:
 
MADONNA

again
I catch you here
my rat
looking in the mirror
with me,
your ivory hand
with rings for Him
reflecting small my infant fact
that I’ve betrayed
all I could’ve hugged
to be like you:

beautiful beyond pianos
beyond the sheen of moons,
queen of my prison cells until

the faux end
when this vain glory burns
all that I view
to ash
so you,
my cream mother love
are heated full
to sandalwood deep
inside my clues
living maggot free
forever and ever,

bless us all,
amen.

taken from: Claptrap: Notes from Hollywood (Cantarabooks, 2006)

4 thoughts on “Stephen Gyllenhaal’s momma

  1. So sorry for the loss of your friend\’s mother. I\’m happy you have not experienced that yet. I never thought my mother would die. I thought she would live forever as illogical as that sounds. But I have since found out that many other adults shared that same irrational perception. When my mother died. Everything in my world died, including God. Slowly, slowly my faith came back. Softly, patiently, God waited.
     
    Caroline

  2. I was just going to open my computer to see some funny blogs, but so sorry for your friend\’s mon\’s pass away. Although it will be so hard for every one, anyway, let\’s believe in that heaven is better~

  3. I am so sorry to hear of Stephen\’s loss. Losing parents is all too difficult as we
    find ourselves feeling quite smalll and abandoned in a sort of way. It is because
    the folks have always been there  through all stages of our life, so their passing
    makes us feel vulnerable in a way we haven\’t felt before. In time the pain lifts some
    however there is always an empty corner in out hearts…
    BE Well
    Barb

  4. It\’s my first time wondering around in the space community, check into other people\’s spaces who are not actually a friend of mine yet. Sorry to hear about stephen\’s mom. I hope life\’s alright for him now! But people come and go, regardless of how important they are for us. We will also leave this world someday, regardless of how many people out there that care about us, or we care about. Most important thing is how we live our life now, and just don\’t ever hurt anyone that we love, in any occasion. Let people know that you treasure them, and this will last forever, until death, maybe even after.It\’s intersting that you put some of your writing works on the net. Actually none of my friends around are actually writers! maybe because i learn machanics and things like that. We deal with numbers most often^-^.. I hope we can be friends~~:)Julie K.

Comments are closed.