I am still where I am…

My brother Tommy arrives in the city tonight!  He’s flying in from Texas where it is hot hot hot- it’s still a bit on the cool side here. I’ve been having a grand ole time where I am. The city is warming up and soon it will be warm enough to drive to the coast. I know Tommy and I will be "rock hunting."
 
Today we are going to see some gardens, a particular kind of gardens.
 
I ate the sweetest strawberries I’ve ever had – or did I say that already? My brain is mushy. It’s strange being on vacation. Even when I take "vacations" I usually work, but this time I’m allowing myself real time off. I forget who I am here.  When I am around my son I am his mom. When I am alone, I am just this person who is visiting here that the conceirge or hotel staff says good morning or good evening too or that I say hello how are you to. When I call home to my mountain, I remember I am who I am. It is a strange feeling, but not unpleasant.
 
The downtown here has everything – it has theaters including movie theaters, it has museums, it has grocery stores, it has drugstores, it has hotels, it has apartments and condos, it has businesses, it has coffee shops and restaurants, it has huge bus things that take you to aroud the downtown if you get tired of walking. What a downtown!
 
Until I moved to my NC mountains, when I visited here, I smelled fresh pine, fir, evergreen. Now that I am used to clean sweet mountain air, I do not notice it as much – but I know it to still be there. There are so many different kinds of evergreens here! I don’t know the names of them all.
 
namaste.
 
 
6 thoughts on “I am still where I am…

  1. Everyone needs a vacation at times. You\’ve earned yours, so enjoy it to the fullest! Be well,
    J.

  2. Are you in Vancouver, WA by any chance?  I remember you visiting relatives up this way last year.  From your clues I would say Memphis, but it is strawberry season in Oregon, and the berry jam wouldn\’t be Marionberry Jam by any chance?  If your are you are so close to me, and I\’d love to meet somewhere.  I think I finally have all my blogging problems solve, started work on another book, which is going well.
    Blessed be

  3. yay for vacation, for temporary identity abandonment. yay  for nice smells and strawberries. and for coffee shops! :)

  4. I sure am glad you are where you are! It sounds as if you are in the Northwest. Eugene, OR perhaps? or Seattle, WA?
    Have fun.
     
    Dont\’ know what namaste means but a lot of bloggers use it. I\’ll just say,
    Enjoy your vacation in good health!
     
    Caroline

Comments are closed.