Food and Rejection and Determination and Beauty

I have had sushi, Indian food, Thai, Vietnamese, Italian–all from "authentic" restaurants. I have biscuits with – yes! As you said, Marionberry jam on it and I liked it so much I bought a jar. I bought two pints of the sweet strawberries and ate as many as I could before they went bad so very fast – so delicate they are. I’ve eaten big sweet raspberries. I’ve had plums and nectarines I bought from a huge grocery that is nothing (or mostly) Japanese foodstuffs, with a Japenese bookstore next to it. I’ve gone into an Ikea for the first time.
 
Tommy and I drove to the coast but just briefly as it was far too windy yesterday – the sand rushed against us like sandblasting. I snapped a few pics and we drove along the coastal road enjoying the beautiful day and the mountains and valleys and rural areas.
 
Today, we will hike a bit and look at the falls.
 
On a downside, I received a rejection letter from an agent that I felt a bit positive about (although I should know better than to do that). I have to fight not to seep in negativity- as my vacation is and was all about getting away from that side of my writing life. I knew I should not have asked Good Man Roger to see if I had any mail, and then to open that mail. Because that side of this life I live can be demeaning and sad and angry and disappointing. Ah well. I will put it out of my mind! I will enjoy nature today. I will think ahead to another way of getting my VK to readers if that is what it takes. I will not give up. I am not the only writer sitting with a stunned look on her face that turns to a determined one, thinking, "No? you say No? But I say yes…I say I have a beautiful book. I say Virginia Kate is lovely and beautiful and lyrical and literary and she will be read, goddamit! If not through you, then another way…just watch me."
 
Some of you have already guessed the general area where I am, though not exact, very close!
 
I donot have my reading glasses on – I am typing this in a blur *haw* – if there are mistakes, I ask humble apologies. When did I need those glasses so much?
 
ciao.
(Namaste – I bow to the heart/soul of you who bows to the heart/soul of me — sort of what it means)
6 thoughts on “Food and Rejection and Determination and Beauty

  1. I\’m in Houston, but I have some food picture for a blog post for you when I get back from Texas. Watch out for the Gumbo, that\’s all I\’ll say today.  :o)

  2. a delicious trip!
     
    a not delicious letter from home.
     
    i am sorry about the agent, kat. i believe in VK. i do i do. she will be read, because she is rad.
     
    rad!
     
    and so are you.

  3. Ha ha You can\’t eat all asian foods with lots of sauce? you need eat with biscuits lol! my hubby used to called those type of foods for "the wet foods"
    because compare wih an english dish. at reast you didn\’t have any problems with your tummy thats a good news.
    Enjoy your holiday,
    Michiko 
     

  4. Trust in Nature, for she will surround you with beauty. Enjoy the rest of your vacation, and don\’t open any more "work mail." be well,
    J.

  5. How disappointing re VK. I haven\’t read it as apparently some bloggers have but I would like to. Is it posted on your site somewhere? Compartmentalize the disappointment and get on with your vacation!! 
    We had a buy one get one free on strawberries yesterday. I gave one quart to my son, cut up and sugared the other quart. I thought I might make strawberry shortcake but in the meantime I made a salad with baby spring greens, sliced bananas, and sugared strawberries. I suprised myself as I\’m not usually very creative with food, but this was delicious.
    Keep on having fun,
    Caroline

Comments are closed.