Charter drops the ball and frustrates us Mountain People here on Killian’s Knob

Oh, everyone! I have been without telephone (other than my cell, thank gawd!), without television, without internet, from 4:00 AM on Tuesday morning until last night. All because Charter would not get up here to our mountain and fix the problem. There aren’t many of us on this side of the mountain, but we all called and begged them to come fix our problem — and they gave us days of run-around. The problem? A tree fell on wires and knocked them down. Progress Energy was here in a flash – in the dark, in the rain, without us even having to call them! They had the wires up and our services back by lunchtime. Charter, however, ignored us for days, despite our calls. They pretended we hadn’t called, they made excuses, they delayed, they told us one thing and then told us another, they claimed no one else had called, etc etc etc – a big time run around. All that time, the wires were left on the road – for the big Progress energy trucks to run over, for the mailman to run over, for our cars to run over. We don’t get a lot of traffic, but we have tourists that come and etc, so there is some traffic that ran over the wires. So, Charter puts up the bad run over wire and we’re supposed to trust they’ll come back and replace it – meanwhile, my internet is running slow because of the bad wire!
 
Those of us who now can contact each other – for we aren’t in a "regular neighborhood" where you walk out your door and hail your neighbor, we are some of us discussing leaving Charter and going to AT&T DSL, etc….I’ve never had DSL, but, I am considering it.
 
So obviously I could not come by here and read comments, put Clementine up or anything else. The best I could do was one day drive into the valley to Osondu Booksellers and use their WiFi – but, time was a factor.
 
Now, I will be calling Charter back – and I’m sure will get more run-around…oh sure, they are all (most of them anyway) polite, but of course I want results, not platitudes. I could regale you with some of their finest excuses and other things they told us, but I think I’ll just leave it at this and get busy trying to catch up on work.
 
Now, on to read your comments and etc~!
 
5 thoughts on “Charter drops the ball and frustrates us Mountain People here on Killian’s Knob

  1. It appears that you hold Charter in as high esteem as I hold Comcast.  Hey.  Tell \’em you\’re an award winning blogger and that you will be certain to continue to mention this until you are satisfied with their service.  Yeah, that\’s the ticket.  Have a good holiday.Peace, Doc

  2. Oh what a bother and hassle for you.  I live in a two block area of Seattle which does not have Comcast.  I will never complaine again about not having on demand.  Okay, I admnit, I\’m moving to Tacoma soon and they have Comcast!
    I feel so spoiled!
    Blessed be

  3. Hi,
     
    You have my deepest sympathies when dealing with wireless folks.  In SLC it is not as much of a drag as it is here in Montana where we have no choices.
     
    Glad you are connected once more.
     
    Betty

  4. I\’m sorry you are having such hassles. The only ting these folks understand is when you vote with your feet. Be well,
    J.

  5. Hmm… time to visit someone with a fast wireless access point me thinks. Our library is pretty good at that. There are more computers than books, WTH! But it is fun to walk behind the computer users and see what they are reading… eBay, checking account, email, Craig\’s List, country music with no sound, email, a 4 year old with nothing except the default screen. Fascinating.  ;o)

Comments are closed.