Doing it the Green way? the small way? Recyled Paper Novels! Why not?

I’ve been pondering and pondering and pondering away…my head hurts…(laughing).
 
But, the other morning, as Deep Creek Blend gurgled in the coffee maker, and as I grabbed my robe from the hook, and as the morning breeze touched my face, and as I smiled at such a beautiful mountain morning, I remembered when I first moved to my mountain and how quiet it was, and it still is, but beyond that, I remembered how quiet I felt. My days weren’t as hectic as they are now. I didn’t have as many things to occupy my mind and my time. I’m not complaining, but, I suddenly missed those days, if only a little.
 
And I took my coffee to the porch and rocked and sipped– something I haven’t done in a long time, for I’ve been coming straight to my laptop and beginning my work day while still in my robe. While rocking, I had a sudden clarity that I should do things differently than I first planned.
 
For example: isn’t there a way my novel(s) can be published on recycled paper? Can’t I use a small press instead of a big giant press, and couldn’t I support independent booksellers by having my recycled paper novel on their shelves? As a writer, what else could I do to be "Green" and responsible and community oriented, especially small communities who need these Indie Booksellers? How can I publish my books, but protect at the same time? And how can I support these Independent Booksellers, and/or indie publishers? Is there a way to work together that is better for our earth? Who knows these things? How can I find out? Where do I begin? (Of course, again, me wanting to publish my novel in this way doesn’t mean my novel(s) will be accepted – but, if I found the "perfect" publisher, how could I broach this? Or can you? Who else is doing it? And if not, why not?) 
 
That’s what’s been on my mind for several days now. Could be there is nothing I can do – no small press who publishes "Green" who is interested in my novels in the first place, but is anyone doing this? And if not, again, I wonder why?
 
Is it all about selling and selling and selling and selling more and more books – well, yes, in the publishing industry it is. But, is there other ways to be responsible and environmentally conscious?
 
Ah well. Just me pondering away. Just me with a wondering mind. A wandering mind. But, wouldn’t it be a cool dream for me to have my novels published on recycled paper at a small press and have it sold in community Independent Bookstores – now that would make me feel good. And how could I further that – would I do virtual book readings with my webcam, to save the gas from traveling? I don’t know. So much about books is getting the word out on your work – but surely there are ways to do this that take care with our environment? And my trees – what would I look like if I finally pulled together my book of essays and photography I am compiling – the one of nature and trees- and I had it printed using the very trees I am loving? Am I being too silly? But, that itches my brain…it does.
 
Any thoughts out there?   
10 thoughts on “Doing it the Green way? the small way? Recyled Paper Novels! Why not?

  1. Not silly at all! You may be the wave of the future. Wish I could save all these downed trees from Gustav to turn into paper for your novel. How cool would that be? A piece of your old home in every book. Hugs and I\’m sippin\’ wit ya.

  2. Publishing is becoming easier all the time. Making decisions based on conderations for Gaia, aka Mother Earth, is commendable if you ask me. But you have to watch out for companies who say they are Green and they soooo are not! How\’s that for convoluted sentence?
     
    Your post got me to thinking (thanks) about living the quiet life in the country. I really luv the city life so much. Mostly it is because I like being around my peeps, the symphony, the theater… Oh, I could go on and on. But I do NOT enjoy the hustle and bussle of the inter-city life. Sometimes I feel like one too many rats have been thrown in the box that is Seattle. And you remember what happened in that experiment!
     
    Be well my friend.

  3. Dear Kathryn,  Thank you for visiting the Painting Studio and for your most kind comments.  It has been a good long time.  Your news seems like good news and it made me smile.  You will do fine at the door.  Smile!  Now we do not have to use trees for paper that was so last century.  We have the keypad and all of the internet to explore and improve the betterment.  Create an internet company that only downloads text in here and only prints on re cycled paper. 
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

  4. Sorry hit the wrong key.  There is enough file and storage to print anything in the computer now.  To have a work in one\’s own hands is still desired.  The print out option is something to think about as are all rights reserved and all than crap.  Smile!  As ever be well, My Dear Friend,
    Stephen Craig Roe

  5. I think a good idea to used recycled paper for your books as long as you can read well?
    I\’ve seeing at back of the Christmas card, it said Recycled paper…so why not for the books?
    Your always fine some wonderful idea, it must be where you lives in high mountain give you thought about thislol!
    Have a great weekend,
    Michiko
        

  6. Hi Kathryn,
    Just ask the publisher to ask the printer to use recycled paper.  No big deal.  It folds just the same as regular paper, takes binder glue just the same, etc.  And nowadays, likely the same shade of white.

  7. I\’ve been thinking about a notion like this for some time now.  I doubt that what I would have to offer would have large mass appeal, but it could prove very interesting or useful for some.  I have recordings of my own form of deep muscle relaxation and am working on versions of "the perfect noise" to enhance relaxation.  These would be offered as downloads from a website (or CDs by mail.)  Also, in the back of my mind is a plan for e-book or .pdf distribution by download of the content.  No large cash sartup fees and the worst one does to nature is irritate a few electrons rather than killing trees and such.  I\’ve heard your voice on the interview you posted and you would be the perfect one to read your own work as a talking book.Peace, Doc

Comments are closed.