Scenes from a marriage…

Last night I was somewhere—that somewhere will remain a secret because I like to be mysterious and otherworldly. While at that somewhere, I watched people. Most particularly, I watched couples—most of whom were married or I will pretend they are married because I’m going to cheat (see below) and make them all married since this is “Scenes from a Marriage” day and it fits my purposes. Dang. Alas, no, I cannot cheat—some were married and some were not. Perhaps some that wore wedding bands were married, but to someone else, then well, then they’d be the cheaters not me. Ha. I digress.

 

At one point in the evening, seven women walked into the women’s bathroom: one man walked into the men’s bathroom. A bare near-two minutes later, three women walked into the women’s bathroom: no men went into the men’s bathroom. Three minutes later, four women squeezed into the women’s bathroom (how did they all fit?): one man walked into the men’s bathroom. Do you see a pattern here?

 

Soon, separately, the two men who’d been in the men’s bathroom emerged, nice and emptied of any urinary demands (I like that! Urinary demands! How clever I am!) and stood waiting for their partners to return to them. And waited. And waited. And waited.

 

Do the math: within five minutes, two men entered the men’s bathroom, one at a time, and then exited one at a time. In the women’s bathroom, fourteen women mashed into the three-stalled women’s bathroom—and, within that same five minutes, none exited. Huhn.

 

Here is what else I knew. I’ll be a delicately indelicate:

womens-bathroomThe two men entered, separately. Each went straight to the urinary receptacle. No wait. The men were wearing suits. Those suits had pants. Those pants had zippers. Those zippers could be unzipped, whereas the urinary apparatus is withdrawn, thereof depositing the liquid into the receptacle, and then the urinary apparatus is tucked away, zipper zipped, done (and wash? Not wash? I hope wash, but who knows). Leave bathroom.

 

mba0605lHowever, the women were in all their finery. Long slinky slippery dresses that shimmered and shimmied. There was that long line of women where each waited her turn, one after another. There were dresses to finagle out of the way. There were undies and/or pantyhose (if worn- personally I hate pantyhose and wear them only under the strictest of circumstances), and then it’s fiddle-adjust-pullup/down-sit(or hover as I do)-deposit liquid in receptacle-unroll-wad-swipe-stand-pulldown/up-flush(sometimes with foot)-adjust-exit stall-wait to get to sink to wash-dry-prettify in front of the mirror–lipstick to replenish, hair to pat or tuck back into chignons, bodices to adjust, spangles to re-spangle, and lastly, wade back through the waiting women to finally exit the bathroom where partner has been waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting.

 

By time the woman gets to the bathroom and out, the event is near over, or the dinner is cold, or the theater lights are flashing a third warning, or the partner has forgotten you and has moved and is flirting with the woman who was first in line, or the woman gives up and stays the event in agony of un-emptiedness. I have even heard tales of women entering the bathroom never to be seen again. Her partner stands waiting, waiting, waiting to this day, waiting.

 

Sign we’d like to see: conf_sign

11 thoughts on “Scenes from a marriage…

  1. I remember being at a Bus stop on the Autobahn where there were just too many tourist buses. The women\’s line was really long and some of the older German ladies just walked into the men\’s room and went to the stalls. Shocked me. Actually a lot of stuff in Europe shocked me back then. The nudists in the city park, the nudity in the ads that even the kids watched and the children drinking watered down wine with breakfast.

  2. Thanks for your visits. I\’m missing Clemmie/Clementine.
    But as I was saying . . . . I am amazed at how you can take an everyday, human occurrence and turn it into a funny, yet true, story. Despite the fact that men seem to have a more effecient anatomy, I read once that they are lower on the evolutionary ladder because they only have one orifice serving two (liquid) purposes, i.e., elimination and procreation; whereas females have an anatomy that keeps the two functions separate.  
    Maybe not true but certainly interesting to think about.
    Caroline
     

  3. Dear Kathryn,  Too funny!   People watching is the first key to reading them.  Although it has been so busy as of late that most are a blurr.  Only one day off this week and that is busy too.
    As ever be well,
    Stephen Craig Rowe

  4. The last sentence about people never coming out jogged a memory.  In Las Vegas many years ago this beautiful woman went into this store, a spy store to buy something.  Her husband was waiting in the car.  He waited and waited and she never came out.  He went into the store but they said she was not there.  the owner of the store killed her inside the store and drug her to the back room and then took her to the desert and burried her.  It was a very strange thing.  Here is the link.
    http://www.reviewjournal.com/lvrj_home/2003/Apr-30-Wed-2003/news/21217773.html

  5. After reading this, I can\’t quite eliminate an association between the mental images produced here and those very recently seen on TV news of old flying boats being used to fight the L.A. wildfires.  I wonder if they wash after their mission is accomplished?Peace, doc

  6. For these reasons, I\’ve sometimes just run in the empty men\’s room, hovered in the closed stall, and quickly dashed out…most times with a guard at the door. :)   Yo bad friend in the swamps.

  7. Very funny. I enjoyed the post. Sometimes the real life
    exactly same with jokes.
     
    Love and peace, Zeynep xx
     

  8. "the partner has forgotten you and has moved and is flirting with the woman who was first in line" … Ha!  Too funny!  I giggled all the way through this one!  Small Footprintshttp://reducefootprints.blogspot.com

  9. Good morning, Kathryn!
     
    Hahaha! Very amusing observations! I especially liked it when you wrote, "spangles to re-spangle." Very clever! It was nice to read something so lighted hearted this morning! : )
     
    I also wanted to thank you for the book recommendations. I wrote them down and will check my library for them. Do you have a book published? If so, that book I would buy. Mostly though I am just too cheap. I love the library!
     
    Have a wonderful day!
    Liz

Comments are closed.