New Year. “Old Young Me.” Cover Art!

It is almost the New Year. I feel it rushing towards me even as I’m walking steadily towards it. I have friends from out of town who will come to our mountain here at Killian Knob; they will spend the week with us, ring in a new year with us in the mountain way.
 
This week, I probably will see some cover art for my novel. Just writing that makes me smile. I can’t wait to see the cover designs – can’t wait to see how the book will be interpreted. I gave them a few images and they had a few images and from there, it will be born. I trust their expertise in this area. We are still looking at titles. That makes me smile, because Virginia Kate has had so many titles. The perfect one seems just out of my reach. 
 
My brother is sending me photos from when we were kids. There is one he sent where I look so solemn. My eyes are dark and unreadable. I want to read my eyes – try to see what is lurking there. I am probably too close to myself to see. What do you see in my eyes? What is that face below saying? I have a half-crooked smile (I still smile that way) – one side lifted slightly. But, still, my face seems as if it is almost expressionless? There are a few bird track freckles across my nose. My long hair is pulled back into a ponytail. My eyes are dark and unreadable. What is this little girl thinking? What do you read here?
 
My friends – I notice we all are not "blog-walking" as much as we used to. Is it the changes to MSN? Is it the holidays? Is it just life life life in the way? I do hope if you stop by, you leave a hello in the comments. I will come return your visit. That said, soon, I will have no knowledge of what my coming days will be like – especially once the book is out, but I do know I am going to work hard to make this book a success…and the ones to follow (Must think Positive! *smiling*)
 
Here’s to your New Year. Be safe; be well.
 
And here is Little Kat.
10 thoughts on “New Year. “Old Young Me.” Cover Art!

  1. Hi Kat, What fun to think about titles, etc. for your book! Your photo is of a little girl, innocent of bad stuff, curious about all things, yet shy and demure. (I know that\’s a hackneyed phrase and I apologize!) I love that you\’re sharing your thoughts and feelings as you go along this new road. Best,Nan

  2. Little Kat\’s thinking, "I hate this frilly collar. I do NOT want to smile for you, Mr. Photo-Taker Man. Leave me alone and let me go run by the pond or read my Black Beauty." :) So excited about the book!!!!!! Angie

  3. The girl in that picture look like she is thinking "Ok take my picture, I don\’t want you to take my picture." I like this picture better than the fake smile pictures though. Have a great New Years Eve. I am not doing anything. I have you on my google reader, so I read you every time you update. You are right, it is hard to figure out how to do anything on this Windows live anymore. I can hardly find my homepage to even write something on here.

  4. Hi! I love that picture of Little Kat … you look like you have a secret … perhaps the secret knowledge that one day you\’ll be publishing books (and be famous). :)I think bloggers are not as active right now … I\’ve seen a lot of posts that say "I\’m taking a break and will be back after the New Year". For me … I\’ve had the dreaded cold/flu so … haven\’t been browsing as much as usual.BTW … I would love to come to your book signing at Malaprops so be sure to let me know when you\’ll be there. Have a fun, mountain-style, New Year\’s Day! Small footprintshttp://reducefootprints.blogspot.com

  5. Dear Kathryn, Little did we know as children what life would bring and take away. Little do we know as adults the same. Yet there is ever a desire to improve the betterment with our works, words and actions. I wish you and yours a Great New Year. Did you see the photograph I added at the end of the Christmas Letter post?As ever be well. Stephen Craig Rowe

  6. So you like my eyebrows, lol. Yours too not bad, as I see on the picture.Maybe you post your book cover here. I had given the cover opinion tothe painter for my first book Kanatsız Düşüşler. But nobody asked meanything about it for the following books. I don\’t know is it your first book,if it is the first one, you must be so excited. Hope things go well for youand your book.Happy new year, love and peace, Zeynep xx

  7. You know we are all waiting for the preview of the cover of your new book, don\’t you? Will this be the picture of the author on the back of the book? Happy New Year Kat!

  8. Happy New Year Kat, and it sounds like things are perfect with you. I am so looking forward to seeing your book on my night stand. Autographed to be sure! Blessed be

  9. Happy New Year to the cautious yet hopeful child with the Mona-Lisa smile… She\’s been hurt, or witnessed hurtful things, and has her own world to retreat into when needed — but looks at that stranger who has come to elementary school to take pictures and asks with wide eyes, "Do you see the real me inside? Do you see how smart and good I am? and ready to burst with mischievousness and vitality, when I am brave enough to not care what other people think of me? Are you the one who will really know me, and appreciate me for the special person I am?" Forty years later, a publisher is helping affirm that answer. Congratulations!! An exciting new year with all kinds of new experiences beckons. I look forward to tracking your progress and enjoying the opportunity to "share" it with you. Why not just "Virginia Kate"? Happy New Year!

  10. oh wow. that is such a lovely little girl. she\’s beautiful, but she doesn\’t know it. i think i see restraint. a little girl who wants to scream and dance and make funny faces and throw her hands up but is afraid she\’ll be displeasing. i think she is probably wringing her hands in her lap. i think her eyes are saying, "is this okay? are you okay with me like this?"

Comments are closed.