A New Year. A Draft Cover! An old photograph of a beginning.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!
 
Ah, we had a quiet night. Went to the theater for the "Awards and Year in Review" soiree and then we were supposed to go to a good friend of ours, but alas, I had a headache! Haven’t had one of those in a long long time, but it was insistent. After hours of smiling and pretending as if I felt perky and energetic, I gave in. Came home.
 
I opened my email, just to glance at it before shutting down my computer – and what did I see? A draft of my cover! I am so excited. Just seeing the compelling cover, with my name on it, and a title (although I’m not sure if it’s the final title or not)…well, … I almost cried. They did a beautiful job – Bellebooks captured the essence of the novel in this one simple image. I’m not posting it because I don’t know if that’s what we are using, and until things are finalized, I don’t want to do something I shouldn’t do.
 
Everyone thinks about beginnings at the new year; and I suppose they think about endings as well. My brother Tommy is sending me all these photos of when we were kids, and in the few he sent me the other day, there was my adoptive mother and my father. I stare at that photo, just as I stare at the others he sent me – we look for hints, for stories, for answer, but we also look for that moment – that one moment when the camera shutter snapped and the image was captured and in that moment everyone in the photo had their own private thoughts. What were those thoughts? I look at the image below and see my mother smiling so happily. My father is handsome and looks happy, too. This is their wedding day. The start of a beginning long before their end. It’s a photo I stare at over and over again. The hope of that day. And all the days after as they formed into what they would become.
 
Have a wonderful new year. Be hopeful. Live this moment. Don’t be afraid of life. Don’t be afraid of hurt and disappointment – for without that, we really do not live because it means we do not take chances on those moments captured.
 
Namaste.
 
 
 
8 thoughts on “A New Year. A Draft Cover! An old photograph of a beginning.

  1. What joy and hope and expectancy of good shines in their eyes! And notice your mother\’s white gloves? And the train case? Goodness, those were the days.Happy new yearNan

  2. Hi Kat, congrats again on your book. Your parents do look very happy, and your father looks a bit like George Clooneyin this photo! Namaste.

  3. What a wonderful picture to post at the beginning of a year! How sweet and happy they look. Have a wonderful and happy New Year!Blessings on your house and mountain,Caroline

  4. "Don\’t be afraid of hurt and disappointment – for without that, we really do not live because it means we do not take chances on those moments captured." Amen, Sistuh.

  5. aghhhhhh! lordy lordy lordy, i would be absolutely overcome with excitment to see a book cover. how are you so calm about it??? i can\’t wait. CAN\’T WAIT.and what a great photo. look at all that celebration!

  6. teehee — I am about to bust….Bellebooks has done a beautiful job- I am so glad I found them and sent that query! They captured just what I wanted with that image – so happy.

  7. Congratulations!! It must feel wonderful to have your work/baby coming to life. I\’m really pleased for you. I\’m going to have to have to discuss the name Kathryn with you, though. I found two Catharine\’s and one Catherine, all related to me in the 1880 fed census – all in a town of about 400 people. Who knew? Happy New Year and I hope you get almost all you want in 2009. I\’ve decided that getting all you want would probably hurt.Peace, Doc

  8. Kat – so exciting!! I\’m looking forward to seeing Virginia Kate\’s cover and knowing her title! Revel in the excitement.I appreciate your look to past and present with the photo of your dad and step mom – so insightful, so strong and courageous. That\’s our Kat!

Comments are closed.