Baby Rings on little fingers…

I had this on the Tender Graces blog because it facinates me. Maybe I’m easily facinated? But, first let me explain that I had never seen a photo of myself as a baby. The youngest I’d ever seen a picture of me was at toddler age. My brother Tommy found a picture of when I was six months old that my Maw Maw had given my (adoptive) mother Ruth–who is in every sense of the word my mother so I feel weird putting "adoptive" in front of it. I’m sure  I could call my bio-mom and ask for some baby photos, but for some reason no one has done this, including me, or if they have, none has been forthcoming.
 
So, I was looking at it, trying to find the "me" that is me in it. There is a certain age where you begin to take on your traits, and before that you are sort of like a potato or something *laugh* – a cute potato, but, you look like most all other potatoes. Maybe that’s not a good image for babies. Huhn. Laughing. Maybe I should say we look like something cuter or whatever. Anyway, maybe I’m just hungry and have food on my mind so all my images and anologies and metaphors will be about food today.
 
But, there, what is that? Look on my left hand finger – my wedding ring finger! A ring! I thought it odd to put a ring on a baby on their "wedding ring" finger. Actually, I’ve never seen a baby that young with a ring on, but I hear they used to do that a lot. Like now you see baby girls with earrings.
 
Did you wear a baby ring? and if so, what finger? I know, I know – not the most facinating thing in the world, but I’m facinated all the same. Was there some West Virginia tradition? or family tradition? or it was something they did during that time? Or they just thought it was cute and that was the only reason? I guess I could call my bio-mom and ask; maybe I’ll do that soon.
 
I’ve had a whole two-hundred and something visits to the TG Trailer! haw! Now, that’s probably nothing, a drop in the bucket for most u-tubal thingees, but, I’m still excited about it! Teehee. Thanks to y’all who visited, and who posted the links (muwah!), and left a nice comment here and there, and who will visit, and who might, and who won’t but I love you anyway *laugh*
 
All right – here I am – little curl on the head and all (And Walker said, "you still have the same haircut" LAUGHING!!!)
 
 
13 thoughts on “Baby Rings on little fingers…

  1. I\’d eschew rings if it didn\’t bother Suzy. But no, I\’ve never seen rings on baby fingers; I\’d be afraid they\’d find a way to swallow it. When I met Suzy (she was 15 then) she had five rings on. Now she wears two except for special occasions. I don\’t know if it is the Presbyterian thang in me or the security consciousness that is part of my makeup. I just worry about her becoming a target in public if she wears a lot of jewelery. I get the feeling that you were loved when I look at this picture. :o)

  2. That is so precious. My mother\’s name was Ruth, which is why I named my change of life daughter Ruthie. It\’s my favortie name. I like the curl, and agree, I have never seen a ring on that finger of a baby.Blessed be

  3. Actually, I had one. And my folks dressed me funny, too. One must remember that "Mama," their mother, had supported the family as a seamstress after their father drowned, was first greneration Irish, 80+ years my senior, and sewed dresses for me. I really don\’t know if the ring thing was Celtic or not, but I suspect so. I very seldom wear dresses any more, though.Peace, Doc

Comments are closed.