Random Photos of Ice While in the Woods & Pumpkin Bread Morning & Toys for Tots!

I took a walk in the woods along the creek yesterday morning. The temps were in the 20’s and it seemed rather nice–when compared to the teens and single digits we’ve had! Little Cutie Psycho Girl and Not Quite Fat Dog were with me, sniffing away. I snapped photos of “ice sculptures” and roots of trees, mostly. Click on individual photos to make larger if you like.



look at the bent over trees -they’re not dead but alive -nature finds a way





trunk looks like it has legs and walking across the forest floor :)



Ah, this is a secret sacred place I won’t tell anyone where it is and only a few may know if it. It made it into the Sweetie Novel.

These are of my pumpkin bread morning (from post below). Ah, it turned out lovely. In the recipe, I added pecans, and I also added orange zest, just a touch of lemon zest, and used orange juice in place of the water, and I also added more spices–used fresh nutmeg, and a little cloves and a teeny bit of allspice. This recipe is well-loved and well-used, for years I’ve had it and it always turns out delicious. I made two batches, and this year I put some Kentucky honey bourbon in one of the batches – ohhhhhh! Thank you to dear Kimmi, author of Unbreakable Child, for that lovely smooth sweet bourbon from her state.

The numbers/letters are worn from this stove already! It’s only about 5ish years old! The other side is worse *laugh*

Add caption

Yesterday I did the Toys for Tots drive, mailed some packages, and did a little last minute christmas shopping for GMR (shhhhhh!). We just do a few little things for each other and that makes it more fun.

I hope you will remember those in need, especially at Christmas time. If you know of a family in need (and sometimes they are too proud to ask), then reach out to them, or maybe there’s a charity in your area that you trust. Toys for Tots is one of my favorites. I’d planned on picking up only a couple of toys, but by time I went to the cash register, well, there were more than a couple in my basket *laughing* — I had dolls, and trucks, and a musical book, and Play Doh, and games, and a thing that makes art from clay, and I bought an Easy Bake Oven because I never had one so some girl or boy will -teeheehee, and, . . . well, I felt like a big ole kid, I did. Only about twoish weeks until Christmas – can you believe it?

Y’all are the best – thank you for all your comments and support-my Blog Friends are WONDERFUL!

Today, I am going to listen to Christmas music while tidying up the little log house. What’s your day look like?

