Friday’s Linky Love: Trees, Bloggers, Oprah/Gov Christie, Memorial Gifts . . .

Time for Friday’s linky love – where I hope to have something for everyone, and as always, where I hope to have some small part in pulling together this wonderful blogging community by sending you here there yonder. I try to do my “blog walking” once a week and am always happy to visit my faves and to discover new people and places. So, if you are shy, don’t be! I can only ‘see’ you if you show your beautiful faces. Happy Clicking Y’all.

Sharla Lovelace is not only one of the nicest people around, but her debut novel “The Reason Is You” will be out this April. I’ve read it ( and was honored to endorse it) and though am not normally a Romance reader, this, to me, wasn’t a “typical” romance. Stop by and congratulate her!

Fellow North Carolinia colleague at Mountain Musings with her two wonderful Goldens Lucy and Ellen and life in these mountains.

I’ve purchased and read Glynis Smy’s poetry and so loved Sticky Sandwiches. She has a smile that’ll light up the room – you’ll see it, there in her bio pic!

“Pilgrim Soul” with Judith Mercado – the first thing I do when I stop by her blog is ogle that gorgeous header there at the top.

Jill of All Trades – I love how her blogs are simple and to the point. And her blog header is so cute.

Len Lambert has a new blog “about writing and other ramblings” – she’s just moved in and would love for you to stop by and take a look!

And new blog friend – Lines of Beauty – “….a blog about aging gracefully, one beautiful wrinkle at a time.” I will soon be a guest there.

I have an Amazon Author Page, and think it’s turning out pretty snazzy, though half the time I don’t know what I’m doing. And to my website homepage, the wonderful Tech Belle, who also has a blog about techy computery stuff, added a slideshow of my books at the top. Whachall think? Are both of these easy to peruse?

I think this “Beautiful Old Tree Books” site is interesting. I need to find some time to look about.

And speaking of trees – I love giving gifts that are in memory of  a loved one. I gave my mom tree dedications in the names of my brother and granny. It’s just a unique and lovely gift: The Trees Remember is the company that does this.

Another time, I gave her a real live tree to plant in my brother’s name. I sent a Japanese Magnolia. I’ll do this again. The Comfort Company – gifts of hope for healing hearts.

And I just love this program on the Science Channel – Through the Wormhole with Morgan Freeman. It doesn’t hurt that I adore Morgan Freeman, just as much as I am fascinated by science and physics and et cetera.  In my “dinner with the physicists” post, I was all giggly when a physicist (who remained anonymous) wrote a nice comment, teeheehee *blushy kat* and it remains one of the most googled of my posts, huhn! Through the Wormhole “explores the deepest mysteries of existence — the questions that have puzzled mankind for eternity. What are we made of? What was there before the beginning? Are we really alone? These questions have been pondered by the most brilliant minds in history.” *kat’s heart goes pittery pattery*

Every now and then if it’s someone I admire or am interested in or curious about, I DVR and watch Oprah’s Master Class  (Maya Angelou had one of the most touching and inspiring – and she also quoted from Shakespeare a quote that I happen to have in my next novel Family Graces – below – and for the same kinds of reasons. I’m so glad she lives in my state of North Carolina–lucky honored us!), and this weekend is Morgan Freeman (yay!).  I’ve watched one episode so far of Oprah’s Next Chapter and that was Governor Chris Christie, and I’ll be watching more.

And I didn’t watch the New Jersey Governor for any political reasons (for which you know I never talk politics!), but out of curiosity. And you know what? I became pissed off at the potshots made at his weight. Not that he’s asking for my indignation or even cares, or even knows this woman in a little log house in a cove at Killian Knob is pissed off on behalf of him, but I am and I do. This has always been a sensitive topic for me because it reeks of “bully mentality” I suppose. You know, the overweight kid, or the “different” kid, or the shy kid, or the kid who wears homemade or well-worn clothes because there is no money, or the kid who stutters because she has had trauma in her life, etc etc; you know, the one who stands in the schoolyard while some Arse hurls insults and the hurling of insults is easy because they know no one will or can fight back. So when a Letterman or a Leno hurls out potshots at someone’s aching soft vulnerability, I imagine that bully in the schoolyard. Yes, sometimes a Letterman or a Leno hurls their putritude at people who maybe “have it coming” and sometimes there is a lightening of something that needs lightening and we find that in humor, but in the instance of someone’s weight or some other vulnerability, I just become REALLY MAD! *okay, kat’s off her soapbox now*

[Here is the quote from Shakespeare I have in Family Graces: When, in disgrace with Fortune and men’s eyes, I all alone beweep my outcast state, and trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries, and look upon myself and curse my fate—William Shakespeare]
That should be enough for now. I’ll see you all on Monday with “Monday’s Classroom.” Have a great weekend!

15 thoughts on “Friday’s Linky Love: Trees, Bloggers, Oprah/Gov Christie, Memorial Gifts . . .

    • I know – I’m so excited we’re having our books out around the same time — we can do “wheeees!” together. Since this is your debut, you’ll be even more over-the-top excited; however, Ihave to say, the feeling of seeing those books, feeling them, knowing your hard work is in tangible touchable form never is old! :-D

  1. Kathryn, what an honor to be noticed and placed in such illustrious company. Thank you. I wish I had checked my email and bloglist earlier. I would have been floating a lot longer. :-)

  2. Hi Kathryn, I just noticed you moved your blog over here, it’s very nice. :) I enjoy reading your posts, and also get very pissed when people talk about someone’s weight, or how ‘different’ they are. One of my sons is developmentally delayed and sometimes displays odd behavior. (Sorry for the rant) :)

    • Not a rant at all – ! I have a protective side that can spill out a rant, let me tell you – I had to delete part of my post up there so it wouldn’t be a mile long! And yup, if someone hurts our children, then the cut, and resulting anger, is deeper.

  3. Oh my goodness, but this is truly a treasure box of goodies here, Kat. I didn’t have a moment on Friday to check-in, so thought I’d have a look at your “Linky Love” on this semi-snowy Saturday morning, and you’ve packed in far too many deliciously tempting sites to visit in just one sitting. I will be back!

    And, you know, I’m very happy to hear your rant. I heard a radio show last week where the hosts started out discussing various tidbits about things Gov Christie is saying and doing. However, it then deteriorated rapidly into a nasty commentary of his weight. *Spitting nails* and I’m thinking “really, really?” What happened to the chit chat about what this man represents and the job he’s doing? Just vicious.

    • Somehow it’s still okay to disrespect the overweight in a way that wouldn’t be tolerated if it wasn’t “weight.” It’s not even that I think we should be always worried about being “politically correct” to the point of becoming mute out of fear. But nope, this is not discussion, this is schoolyard bully.

  4. Man, I’m a bit late in reading my blog list. Thank you for the link! Yes that header is my cute little bottom! Somewhere I have a picture of my momma (as a teenage) in front of that same fence.

    • I love old photos. Photography – print – is a dying art, but then so are so many other “print” things . . . books, mags, etc – though I keep holding out that it’ll be awhile before it’s all computerized . . . lawd!

Comments are closed.