Wednesday Free4All: I am your guinea pig–Anti-Aging Serums & Peanut Butter & Pens, oh my lawd

All right, y’all. When I’m not writing novels or editing R&T, I’m trying out this and that on my face, and in or on my body, or other products I am curious about. You know as “Personal Trainer Kat” I am all about healthy living, looking and feeling my best. So, I’m back with things I have tried, as your guinea pig. Again, I am not “advertising” any of these, and of course I do not receive any compensation. Shoot, they don’t even know lil ole pea-headed me exists. Just giving you all a “head’s up” on my experiences.

L’Oreal Paris Age Perfect Hydra-Nutrition Golden Balm-dang, that’s a long-arse name. Lawdy!

I bought this at our local Waynesville Wal-Mart  after I ripped out and then tried a sample from Oprah Magazine  (who sometimes has these little samples with coupons and I love that). I thought it quite nice, and since they also included a coupon for two dollars off, I bought a jar of it. For 1.7 oz, it’s just under $18.00 (not counting the $2 off I received), and a little goes a long way.

What they say: L’Oreal Paris Age Perfect Hydra-Nutrition Golden Balm Face, Neck & Chest Moisturizer is specifically designed to treat and nourish the less-resilient skin of the neck and decollete area. Precious oils, comprised of nourishing essential oils, are combined with skin-strengthening calcium to attract and maintain moisture for firmer, younger-looking skin

What I like: This stuff is great for winter’s walks in the cove, at Lake Junaluska, or hiking. It’s thick enough that it feels as if I have a nice shield against the effects of wind and cold. Hydra-Nutrition does make my skin feel “nourished” -moisturized- and is great for adding a barrier to keep in that moisture.

What I don’t like: Too heavy for under make-up use. Also, if I apply right before bed, I feel as if it is going to rub off on my pillow. I wonder how it will do during more humid summer months.

Once the jar is empty, I’ll have to decide if I will continue it or try out something else. (See Update Note below where I am completely bee-doozled about ounces sizes and pricing–something I should have considered before. Hmmm.)

As an aside, I wish L’Oreal, Olay, and others, would really think about their packaging. I wouldn’t mind buying products using recycled materials (see pens below). How about it Loreal, Olay, and others?

Smuckers All-natural Peanut Butter: I purchase this peanut butter (chunky) at our wonderful local Ingles Supermarket in Waynesville. And folks, let me tell you — I was a die-hard Jiff fan. But, I’ve been cutting way back on the added sugar in my diet, so Smuckers it is. (I can’t remember what I paid, but it’s not out of line from what I’ve paid for other brands.)

What they say: They have the nutritional information up on their website, so consumers can see the fat, sugars, etc, content of this product.

What I love: I love that this peanut butter has only 1g of sugar. I love that its only ingredients are peanuts and some salt. Yes it has fat, all peanut butter does–but, this is a great source of protein and fat that satisfies. Paired with whole grain crackers or bread (or banana or on an apple), it’s a great snack or post/pre-workout meal. I love the natural peanutty taste. It makes the peanut butter I used to eat taste too sweet, so if you like sweetened peanut butter, you may have to alter your taste buds.

What I don’t like: Not a big deal, but you do have to stir this peanut butter before using it, keep it in the fridge, and occasionally re-stir it, for it does become thickened and harder to spread. Although I’m so used to this now, I don’t mind the consistency.

I am hooked on this peanut butter and won’t go back to “regular” — GMR likes the one with added honey.

Dr. Wexler’s MMPi.20 Skin Regenerating Serum: Last year, I received two small free sample sizes of this for a purchase I made for something else from Bath & Body Works.

What they say: No in-office procedures – just noticeable results from a professional grade anti-aging solution. It visibly renews and improves skin inside and out and is clinically shown to firm skin.  MMPi.20™ anti-aging technology blocks the damaging effect of all 20 known MMPs (skin destroying enzymes that break down production of collagen and cause skin to sink, sag, and wrinkle) and prevents the production of new MMPs, correcting the signs of aging you see today and preventing future damage; Boosts skin’s own regenerative powers to diminish the visible signs of aging; visibly reverses the lines, sink and sag.

What I loved: This serum felt absolutely wonderful as I applied it to my skin–silky and smooth, and it made my face feel that way, too. A little goes a long way and that’s always nice. Did it do all it claims? I do receive compliments on my skin, but I did before using this product. I really did like this product, and so did a friend I  let try it out. Since a dermatologist created it, the serum probably does have great ingredients/benefits, however–

What I do not like: This stuff is regularly priced at $150.00–No Way! I ran out of my two samples months ago and have not repurchased. If I’m going to spend that, then I would have to consider a prescription-strength product for “sun damaged” or “anti-aging” or “problem” skin. However, when I checked the last few times, it seems to be perpetually on sale at $65.00.   I mean, dang. But perhaps I am simply out of touch and this price for over-the-counter facial products is the Norm for some women? Or perhaps someone out there has had stunning results and opens their wallet with glee–anyone out there?

NOTE Update: In the middle of the night, after writing up this post for today, I had a sudden thought: “Check out the amount of the product versus the pricing, Kat.” And lo and behold, the product I am now using (Boots No 7, as I talk about below) is only one ounce of product. Dr. Wexler is 3.4 ounces. If I bought Dr. Wexler’s 3.4 ounces at the sale price of $65.00, then the price is about the same for both products! So there you go. This gives me pause. Do I shell out that $65 for a product I thought felt amazing on my face, or buy a product in a smaller amount for less money that feels wonderful but not amazing? This goes to show you, folks, what you think you see isn’t alway what you actually see.  *Must think about this further* I mean, how far are we willing to go to look/feel our best?–are these people laughing all the way to the bank? *Must really think*

I did purchase Boots No. 7 Protect & Perfect Intense Serum at Asheville Target for about $20 (and, see note update above–only 1 oz, huhn, why didn’t I look at that before?), and it feels great on my skin–again, I will admit Dr. Wexler’s product felt silkier. I have heard good things about Boots No 7, though.

I purchased the tube versus the pump bottle, for did you know if you think you are out of product, you’ve only to cut open the tube and you’ll find inside at least another week’s, and sometimes more, worth? Yup, try it! If you buy the glass pump bottles, it’s hell trying to pull out that last bit.

What they say: No7 Protect & Perfect Intense Beauty Serum has been tested like no other cosmetic anti aging product in an independent 12 month trial. The findings clearly show that it has genuine, long term anti aging benefits. 70% of the volunteers using the product showed a marked improvement in the appearance of photo-aged skin after 12 months of use. This study is the latest step on Boots journey to provide further compelling proof of the performance of its products.

What I like: What I said above.

What I don’t like:  Again–update–only 1 ounce of product . . . dangity.

B2P (Bottle to Pen) Retractable Pen: I bought these at our local Waynesville Staples for about $5 for three.

What they sayAssorted colors: black, blue and red; B2P stands for “Bottle to Pen” – the world’s first recycled pen made from plastic bottles; Vibrant gel ink for smooth, effortless writing; Made from 89.9% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles.

What I like: I love that they recycled bottles to make these pens! It appeals to  my “use and reuse and reuse again if possible” mentality. They are smooth and easy to write with, especially for someone like me who has to have a pen that glides across the page–I have horrid handwriting because I’m an impatient pen/paper writer and any pulls and tugs irritates me–not so these, smoooooth. And they are refillable!

What I don’t like: What often happens is I’ll buy a pen, love it, and can’t find refills. As well, I don’t know if the refills are made of recycled material. But since I haven’t had to refill yet, I don’t know how easy or difficult it will be to find the refills.

I would buy again–I adore pens and never have enough of them! These B2P pens are for “around the house” and tossing in my purse/bag, for I use my Good Pen (that my son bought me one Christmas at a specialty pen store in Oregon) only for special things. LOVE Highway of Writing Pens (see image examples right) — mine is candy apple red (image at left) and the metal case (right) is adorable and fun, and protects my Good Pen — I use it to sign my books, and to sign contracts, and other specialnessnesnneessss. Highway of Writing – love love.

That’s enough for now. But I am curious: What are your thoughts on all these “Beauty Products”–do you subscribe to the “You get what you pay for,” or are you more a “I like all-natural remedies,” or “Y’all are ridiculous–who cares about all this crapity do dah day!”

I’ll be back on Friday with Linky Love. You all go do the day and remember to Find your Gratitude Every Day.

10 thoughts on “Wednesday Free4All: I am your guinea pig–Anti-Aging Serums & Peanut Butter & Pens, oh my lawd

  1. I have tried all sorts of wrinkle stuff on my face – buy it, use through to the end of the bottle/jar. Nothing works. I give up. I’m just my wrinkly, sagging self. Maybe I will try the peanut butter on the face next.

  2. I live on p’nut butter so it was good to know, and I’ll be trying it.

    Love the Highway pens, and have given out as gifts.

    Face products are so hard to differentiate. I know Boots is ranked high for affordable and results. I use Obagi. Expensive, but it works for me. And I figure since I’m not a clothes horse, I can do the program without much guilt.

    On my list would be SUGAR lip balm by Sephora. Heavenly.

    • Lately I’ve been seeing Obagi a lot but do not know anything about it. Actually, I don’t mind spending a little more on myself if I know the results will be Real. For years I scrimped and saved and did not much for Me — well, now I want to do for Me just a little – like you, I don’t spend a lot on clothes and shoes and such . . . I’m pretty low maintenance though maybe I’m becoming middle-maintenance Haw!

      Someone gave me some of that Sugar Lip Balm and you are right, it is heavenly – I haven’t purchased yet, but I’m out so . . . lawd.

  3. Bahaha … why, I wonder, do I feel so hungry after reading this post/comments? I traded off the regular stuff and went to natural peanut butter years ago when my children were small, and I was trying my best to de-sugar their diets (and mine, cos I LOVE PB!). And although I should have mastered this by now, I STILL make a sloppy mess stirring that oil around. Maybe, someday …

    I, too, had some samples of Dr. Wexler that I loved like crazy and squeezed out to the last drops, never to replace because of the $$$. Without going into math, (only because my brain wouldn’t like it), Boots no.7 sounds like something I want to try myself. At the very least it might keep my pocketbook from screaming in pain :-O

    • That’s what I want to think over – I mean, $20 for an ounce is the same as $65 for 3.4 ounces – but, it’s a mind thang – shelling out $65 (and that’s the SALE price! lawd!) feels like more of a hit. ungh.

      But, I am going to try something else that may be less expensive in the “serum department” and if so, I will let y’all know, of course :-D

  4. Pingback: Homepage

Comments are closed.