Monday Classroom: Learning to say “No” and learning to pull back just a bit from the chaos

Hi y’all! Even though I write this before I jump in the Boopmobile to go to the deep south, it will not go “live” until today.

The place where my friends and I will be staying in or around or near Fairhope may not have internet connection, and we are extending our stay at least a week or a little more beyond the conference. Now, at first when I learned this “maybe no internet connection thang,” I was all a-jitter. How would I do my blog posts? Because I don’t have time to write up enough posts in the “schedule posts” thangee. I’m in the midst of finishing up Family Graces galley proofing! Lawd! and packing and thising and thating. What about Facebook and twitter? Oh woe is me! What ever would I do? *JITTERY JUMPITY LAWDYNESS ABOUNDS!*

But then as I scurry around this morning trying to do all I need to do before I leave, my chest tightened and my eyes

if you see me, give me a wave and a honk!

wilded, and I thought, “Maybe this will be a bit of a relief.” There. I said it. Ha! It is said. Want to say it with  me: sometimes we need a bit of relief or else we will burn -out ourselves to a crispy critter! I have been going crazy-go-to-meeting for a while now with only a few breaks, and even in some of those breaks I still worked.

Because folkses, I will admit that I have been all over the place lately. I am supposed to be working on my organization, but have let chaos pull me into discombobulation – lawd lawd h’ep me! The new book will suffer and not be written as it should if I do not learn to relax and let go of some things so I can concentrate on the writing–considering this as a Business, I am not being a good Manager/Owner of my Business. As well, I become C R A Z Y when I do not write regularly. Oh, no – ask GMR – I become a M E S S! My head wants to explode with all the gobbledeegoop that needs to be drained by regular writing . . . yup. Trust me on this.

But, as well, I am going to have to learn, or re-learn, the word “No,” even when I really really want to say, “Of course I’ll do it!” Thing is, there is so much I do enjoy doing and have enjoyed and I am honored to be asked–and that is sincere–but when my inbox becomes full of requests and I am scattered willy nilly, I do no one any good, for then I may fall into the trap of doing many things not-so-well instead of a few things very well. I love helping people, but I have to recognize I realistically can’t help everyone who may ask, so please do understand if you ask me and I say no, it makes me sad to say no. *Very Sad Face Here*

As well, I love my social networking because it keeps me in contact with you all–readers, colleagues, friends, family, so I won’t give those up, but I can use them in a more wise way.

So whilst I am gone, I am going to think and ponder and pondificate these things and I hope to come back with a good solid answer to how I should become more organized, which includes the phrase, “I am sorry; I wish I could but I can’t” or some variation of it.

Now, if we end up at a cafe with wireless, then I’ll pop in and say hello, but if not, then for the next ten days or so, I will be

a fairhope sunset

POOF! Discapeered. There’s that flip in my stomach again–haw! Gawlee, Kat, let it go!

There are plenty of posts in the archives, and below, and on my old blogspot blog, if you misses ole me *teeheehee* but I bet many of you may think, “Hey, this is one less thing to think about today. La la la tee dah. Ding Dong the yappity writer is gone, hi ho the cheerio, sing it high and sing it low, ding dong the yappity writer is goooooonnnne!”  Huhn. Of course, I want you to miss me – haw! – because just because :-D. And if I am gone all this time, I hope you won’t forget me and return when I do – *pwease!*

Now, go have a wonderful day. I will see you, well, I am not sure–guess that remains to be discovered. Ohhhh! Isn’t that sumpin!

16 thoughts on “Monday Classroom: Learning to say “No” and learning to pull back just a bit from the chaos

  1. This sounds like a fun trip, more so because of the no internet thang. Enjoy! And come back uncrispy.

  2. I fully understand spreading oneself too thin…..so easy between family, friends and etc….good luck with that….just know that we wait until the books are ready…no matter how long it takes you. Have a great and productive trip and know I’m envious of the Southern atmosphere….miss it bunches.

  3. TEN DAYS!!! Is it REALLY necessary to be gone THAT long? Couldn’t you just say NO to your grand adventure and get back to stressing, rocking, and churning with the rest of us?

    Alrighty then, don’t mind me, just a little envious I suppose. And really truly, we do prefer our Kat unstressed, loose limbed, and brain fog lifted. Enjoy enjoy!

  4. It sounds like this getaway is exactly what you’re needing right now. I hope you and Angie have some fun and that you get reentered and rested.

  5. OMG you are preaching to the chaos-ridden, choir! I am a first-class, card-carrying, charter member of The People Pleasers Club of America!

    This is a painful lesson I’m still learning – just say NO. Saying NO means saying YES to yourself, your family, your time to write…..ah…..

    • I started out by unsubscribing to things I’d been subscribed to for years that I never even went to – like, places I’d ordered something from, or websites I didn’t even know if they still existed and they certainly didn’t know I did . . . lawd!

Comments are closed.