Personal Trainer Kat says: What the hell . . .? Feeding tubes & Living on air & sunshine? gark

I am the all-wise PT Kat . . . ommmmlawd

Y’allses, y’allses, y’allses – *shaking my head* When oh when will some people stop behaving as if anything worth having is not worth working hard for? When will some people stop looking for “quick fixes . . .?” When will we recognize that our bodies need our attention by living our lives positively and healthfully, so that our wonderful bodies can do their jobs — giving us energy and love of life for as long as we all shall live?

When will we stop treating our bodies as if there’s another one we can pull on once we wear out the one we have? When will we stop trying to be what we are not? When when when when oh when will we see our bodies as beautiful biological machines with miraculous inner and outer workings?

While taking a break from writing or doing research, I come across thangs on the internet and sometimes think, “Oh, this is a joke, surely . . . ” and low and beholden, dippity do dah day, it ain’t always a joke. There are strangeling goings on out there, and some of the strangest are things people do to their bodies–especially when it comes to weight.  And thing is, folkses, they didn’t get where they are overnight, so why do they expect a change overnight? I’m sorry, y’all, but sometimes drinking our Discipline Juice is the answer (see post below).

I will be the first to admit here that I often struggle with food issues and sometimes maybe even “what is really right for

Mirror, mirror, on the wall--

me versus what I see in the mirror” weight issues (there, I said it–more on that later!)–we are bombarded by images and messages that we must remain forever “youthful” and we must remain forever “thin” and we must remain forever “perfect in every way;” but the dangerous message underlying all that is “and we must do it at any cost–” no no! We mustn’t. Ungh, ungh! We mustn’t!

Yup, lawdy there are some cray-cray thangs I come across that has me saying, “What the hell?”

Desperate brides try feeding tube diet – Okay, um, if you know your wedding is coming up, why not try healthy eating and exercise? Why not try a dress that actually fits you? You, the person you are and will become after the wedding is over? Which by the way, after the wedding is over and you are starving your silly arse off, guess what’s going to happen? Guess? Oh, come on, just a little guess. I was saddened when Daddy had to have a feeding tube shoved down his nose, because he was dying–because he slipped in and out of a sort of coma and couldn’t eat–and dear ones, he so wanted to eat when he woke up; he was so hungry. When we brought him home for hospice, one of the first things he asked was (and it still breaks my heart), “Can I eat now?” For some wonky bride to shove a feeding tube down her throat to “be thin” makes me feel this kind of anger and disgust. Oh, I have so much more to say on this. Ungh. But I’ll shush up and say: “What the hell?”

Sleeping Beauty Diet – oh come on, really? Seriously? This is a joke, right? lawd! It must be a joke . . . right? So, you will sleep your weight away instead of taking a walk and eating some fruit and veggies? Ungh. “Oh, once I awaken from my sleep, I shall be skinnyfied and my prince charmlet will whisk me away–whisk, whisking–oh dear! Food Alert! I am thinking of whisks–which touch food! Take me to my pillow, fast!” Dang.

I like my fresh air and sunshine with a side of sandwich, thank you very much!

Breatharianism – I have no words. I am speechless. And disturbed. *sadly shaking my head* – This can’t be real . . . but alas, I believe it just may be. Oh. Dear. Gawd. Of course, something deeper is going on here, and maybe later it’ll involve aliens coming down to take them away on their big beautiful ship where they’ll live happily and oh-so-skeletally ever after! *danged ole sigh*

My beautiful friends, listen to Personal Trainer Kat:  a little hard work and discipline will make you Powerful–so why be weak and sickly and slightly cray-cray “just to be thin?” Eat well. Exercise. Find Gratitude. Find Acceptance. Do not compare yourself to some “Ideal” that isn’t ideal for you. I know more of what goes on in people’s minds when it comes to food and weight and all the crapola in between than you may realize. Oh yes. I do. Lawdy be in a bucket, but maybe some need to get off their asses and find their Discipline instead of sticking tubes down they’s throat. What the hell?

Now, you wonderfuls out there–hug yourself and respect yourself, for you are unique and beautiful. There is only one You and that You deserves to be treated well, don’tchoo think? Huhn, lawd, I’m hungry – I’m going to go eat something rightcheer and now.

But what-chall think about all this? And do you struggle with self-image, weight-image, “I must be perfect” image? If not–tell your secrets to Acceptance. If so, let’s figure out how to Accept.

Namaste; now go do the day!

14 thoughts on “Personal Trainer Kat says: What the hell . . .? Feeding tubes & Living on air & sunshine? gark

    • We are perfect when we accept ourselves and others, when we find gratitude, and when we give of ourselves! When we love and accept and . . . yeah.

      and you are perfect, Karen!

  1. I have learned to enjoy my food, and not to just eat. My body is happier with my choices. Tube feeding to look good makes me angry. As a nurse I find the idea repulsive.

  2. I saw that tube feeding thing and it made me gag. UGH.I have about 7 pounds to lose and trying to do it with what goes in and what goes out –diet and moving around alot. Today it’s working. Tomorrow… anyways, I do not want to look like a fat middle aged woman if I can help it but more importantly want to keep my body healthy!

  3. The feeding tube craziness is insane. What is the matter with these people? I do NOT get it, I don’t. I cannot imagine what comes out the other end. Sorry if that puts a picture in your head, but ick.

    And as you say, what happens after the wedding? Can you imagine what the poor men they’ve married will end up with? Eat well, exercise well and rest. Burn more energy than you stick in your mouth and that’s it. Don’t eat your emotions, deal with them and write them down.

    As for body image morphing, I blame the media and the sisterhood too because we’re too judgemental of each other. The bitching, constant sniping in the press – the British press are rabid dogs – is totally destructive and sends the wrong message to youngsters (boys and girls). There are great vids on youtube showing how magazines airbrush models/celebrities to make them look thinner and ‘perfect’ – they’re showing them in schools here to pupils aged seven and it’s made a big difference in how they see themselves. They no longer believe that what they see in the media is a ‘true’ reflection of a person. Result!

    Great post, darling!

    • I saw a photo of Dr. Oz on one of my magazines the other day and it was danged Creepy! They’d smoothed out his face so much, he looked like some kind of cyborg Dr. Oz! I mean, geez! Do they think we don’t know what he looks like – seeing him on TV on other mags, all over creation . . . what the hell?

      Just give us real people, folks out there in magazine land!

  4. Hi Kat, great post! Thanks for the good info! That feeding tube thing was so sad. What a thing to do to yourself. I remember we had to use one for Mama at the end, and she hated it. All this reminded me of a beautiful quote I read on Twitter (I am learning so much there!) But I need to go back and look at it. (I forget so much now, but I am not going to worry out it. That is why we have writing, right?) Here is the quote-by C S Lewis, –You do not have a soul. You are a soul. You have a body– Kind of puts things in perspective… Miss you!

  5. I saw that feeding tube article and if it wasn’t completely crazy it probably does work. I’ll just be happy with my “as is” self and try to keep in mind that this is it, there is no spare laying around. :O)

Comments are closed.