I am your Personal Trainer: Get on the Ball – exercise ball workout ideas with photos

Hello my lovelies. It’s ever so important to work on our strength and balance. It’s important to try out different things in our workouts. It’s important to move. To see where our bodies will take us and how much they can endure. For women in  menopause and over 50, it is very important to work on strengthening and balance and endurance (I am 55 and want to continue to feel healthy and strong). But, at any age, we must give our bodies what it requires and needs from us.

Below is a series of exercise ball workouts you may want to try, or some version/variation of them. The ball workouts help not only with strengthening (the core muscles are engaged and this is good) but also on our balance and flexibility.

As we age, we can lose strength and balance and flexibility. It’s never too late to start, my beauties. And it’s good to start early, as well!

Now, as I always tell you: see your doctor before beginning an exercise program. As well, modify any exercises if you have any issues with pain or injury, etc. (I often modify for my lower back.) Don’t try to do what someone else does if you aren’t ready for it. Don’t try to “show off” and injure yourself. Push yourself, but safely. Practice. Build on your accomplishments. The more you know about your body, the more you will be able to modify, and as well, to see how much your body can move, how strong it can become, how healthy.

Although I didn’t for these photos, as they were taken before we went to the gym, note also that I do an hour of high-energy “treadmill aerobic dance” before I begin my strengthening and then stretching.   It warms my body and readies it for the next phase. These photos aren’t the best (Sorry GMR, you tried! :-D ) but they will give you an idea of things you may want to try. On another post, I’ll have some other workouts/stretches, etc., for you.

Stretch – lift your body – open those spines – up on toes, abs tight – feel yourself lengthening

Abs/glutes tight, balance strong, your body a line

lower yourself – touch your nose to the mat if you can – keeping body strong, balance, abs/glutes strong! Push up, and repeat -do not lose form, quit when you feel yourself losing that good form

You can also be pushed back on the ball a bit farther back – see where your balance/strength is best.

if you can, curl in with abs pulled in tight, pulling knees in – balance! Strong! and then balance on the ball keeping core tight – be careful -don’t bust your ass!

Uncurl – body strong, balance strong, abs/glutes tight – and push back until you are a long lean line, stretch out

stretch your body, feel your spine (be careful! watch yourself! Don’t over do – don’t over stretch – listen to your own body’s signals!)

now, try some “squat” movements – either two legs, or one leg at a time – core strong, balance – concentrate on your glutes and thighs. I like to keep my knee in line with my lower leg/foot – be careful!

Push back and balance – body strong, leg lifted long and lean and stretching, other leg strong on mat – lift and lower leg if you can – balance!

this one is easier – lift and lower leg – core tight – balance strong – you can lift your body higher on the ball – I like to put my leg at a 90 degree angle and go from there, but sometimes I come up lower or higher

Balance, core tight, lift up with the ball while lifting your leg – hold hold and then release

pull in, curl in, strong, balance, concentrate – if you can, go back to the previous movement.

Balance the ball on your fingers and the tips of your toes, abs tight – hold hold hold

position the ball between your feet and hold hold hold!

lower your legs – abs strong – body strong, hold hold – if you have back issues, put your hands under your hips/low back – I do this when I go any further down, which I do, all the way to the floor and back up-be careful please! Don’t let the back arch!

Pull your knees & arms in, abs tight, then – – –

– – legs straighten, arms back with ball – abs tight – and then go back to the previous position – you can stretch out farther with legs and arms lower but make sure your back does not arch but in its natural curve! Be careful!

stretch again . . . and as well, stretch all of your body – I’ll show you some stretches on a later post.

Namaste

16 thoughts on “I am your Personal Trainer: Get on the Ball – exercise ball workout ideas with photos

  1. Well of course you look amazing, and my oh my, but you make this look so EASY! In fact that’s exactly what I was thinking when I got my exercise ball a few years ago–Easy Peesie. NOT! Making it look simple takes extraordinary skill, but as the photos of the lean and nimble Kat attest, it’s well worth the effort!

    • I’m laughing because I thought I looked like hell *laugh* — but, you know, when I first started doing things on the ball and treadmill, it was more awkward – now that ball and me are becoming fast best friends *laughing*

      The stronger we become, the more confident we are – because things start to become easier – same as with our writing, right? riiiighhht! :-D

  2. Oh good lord! Can I use a baseball instead? May I add that many trainers tell you to use a ball as a chair, to strengthen the core and all the stuff. As long as I’m spending this much time in the chair in front of the computer, I’ll think about starting there!

    • I never have done that — I am sad to admit I slouch sometimes when I write – AW LAWD NO KAT SAY IT AIN”T SO!

      But, dang – I’m an author more than a PT these years *laughing*

  3. Pahhlease, if i bounced on that ball once i would go sailing over the freakin railing and with my luck, land on a traveling spear salesman .
    But you do look good playing bouncy bouncy with the ball.
    Mine would have to be filled with helium to keep me standing

  4. I still remember a previous post you did about slouching at the desk, sitting with your head propped against a hand…every time I do that, I hear your voice in my head to sit up!

  5. Wow, you look great and I admire your stamina, cher! I used to work out with a ball and it’s not easy. Now, I mainly do Yoga, weight training, and Cajun dancing. You’re right, gotta keep moving! Cheers!

  6. You make it almost look like fun, too! I have tried the ball in various gyms and like the exercise. Feels like fun whild having a great work out. You make it look easy, but it certainly isn’t. Okay, I’ll go look for a ball! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • It is fun – :-D of course, I’m kind of weird *laughing* (I can hear my friends and family’s chorus of “you don’t saaaay” to the weird thang) :-D

Comments are closed.