Monday Classroom: We should all take a break . . .

Today I am thinking of so many men and women. And, I am thinking about my nephew. Gone 17 years now. He was almost 20 when he was killed in a training accident. He was in the Marines and something went wrong. He loved the Marines, and it did turn his life around. So young. So full of promise.

So many.

Today for Monday Classroom, I want to remind all y’allses beauties out there to take a day here, there, and yonder, to rest, reflect, go out and see the world, give thanks, have gratitude, experience. For when we do these things, our writing is richer, broader, opened up to so much more. We see things we’ve never seen or revisit things we’ve long forgotten or find beauty or find someone or find ourselves.

Memorial Day . . . a day for rest, a day for BBQ, a day for the beach, a day for family, and a day for remembrance . . . then, tomorrow, it’s back to work.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Monday Classroom: We should all take a break . . .

  1. Thank you for the reminder to remember – yes, we should all stop and breathe in our thanks to those who sacrifice for OUR freedom, and breathe in our thanks for the everyday beauty that surrounds us. And for writing and sharing our loves. Happy Memorial Day. Blessings to your nephew and his family!

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog yet again, Kathryn- but here you are on WordPress! No wonder I couldn’t find you on Blogger. (I get lost easily) Anyway, thanks for the Memorial Day reminder.

  3. I’m so sorry abut your nephew. I realize, first-hand, the sacrifices of our military men and women. I’m fortunate to have my only child, a son (one tour in Iraq), home with us. But there is so much sorrow. These brave men and women make sacrifices every day. Freedom is never free. Remember all those, past and present. Thanks, Kat.

    • I have another nephew who has served and is safe – I am not sure if he is going back – he’s been there more than once . . . he’s such a fine young man and I have hope he will remain safe.

Comments are closed.