I am your Personal Trainer: Smoothie for a Kick-arse You!

Morning! Have you moved about today? Have you strengthened your body? Have you stretched?

Did you challenge yourself in some way?

If not yet, have you set up a plan to do so? Imagining my pea-headed self right here with you going, “Let’s go! Wheeeee!”

Do you feel like a KICK ASS WOMAN OR MAN? Huhn, I can say kick-ass here, but not up there in the title – I do have standards you know *sniffs haughtily*

Today, I have a smoothie ‘recipe’ for you. It’s an easy way to glub down your fruits (and/or veggies if you want to do that) as well as yogurt and soy/almond/whatever milks, flaxseed–all at once! wheeee!

Kick-Ass You Smoothie:

I don’t measure, so experiment to see what works for you.

Some combination of, or only one if you prefer:

Almond milk

Soy milk

Coconut milk

Almond-Coconut milk

I’ve linked to the ones I use, but you use what you like.

Pour liquid into blender.

Add a couple teaspoons (I just shake some in) of ground flaxseed.

Add a small container of plain Greek yogurt.  And here are two I use: Chobani and Oikos, and sometimes I’ll use Yoplait or Dannon but I check the sugar first on what’s available and pick the one with the less sugar.

The important thing here is to use unsweetened or as little added sugar as possible!

You can blend all this together if you like before adding the rest, but make sure you put the lid on or else KERSPLASH. Yeah–I know what I’m talkin’ bout. Lawd.

Add frozen or fresh fruit or a combination. I like to freeze ripe peeled bananas so I can throw the entire frozen banana into the blender. If you use frozen fruits, you don’t have to add ice-cubes (unless you want to). I’ve used all kinds of combinations: strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, bananas, apples, grapes, and even melon—though I don’t like the melon in it as much. I have a freezer full of frozen fruit—some that I bought fresh and froze myself and others I purchase packaged at the grocery–again, all unsweetened (no added sugar).

If you freeze your fresh fruit, it won’t go bad before you have a chance to eat it!

Blend all this until the consistency you like. I blend it really well to make sure that flaxseed is well dispersed. Pour into your glass and enjoy! I use this as my “last meal” of the day so that it’s like a dessert, but if you prefer your smoothies for breakfast, that’s great too. I find for me, though, that using this as “last meal/dessert” stops my cravings for “something sweet” at the end of my day, or after I’ve eaten dinner/supper. It really does work once you make up your mind you are going to watch your added sugar intake!

GMR likes honey or agave nectar added to his for extra sweetness, but I like mine without any added sweetness–this helps my raging sweet-tooth to adjust to having things taste not so sweet–the  natural sweetness from the fruits begins to Be Enough, no really! Trust me! *Imagine me looking all trusthworthified* Once you cut back on your sugar intake, things begin to taste sweet again—I mean really sweet.

Added sugar can be a hidden source of cravings and weight gain and sluggishness and etc etc etc. Save your added sugar for those occasional gooey yummy dessert treats that you allow yourself!

And by “added sugar” I mean sugar that you add to foods or that are commercially added by manufacturers. Not the naturally occurring sugars in fruits and other foods.

namaste . . .

Drink and enjoy! *cheers to our good health*

11 thoughts on “I am your Personal Trainer: Smoothie for a Kick-arse You!

  1. I just bought the Magic Bullet and made my first smoothie yesterday with a frozen banana. Used a dash of milk but think I will use my nonfat yogurt instead. Like you, I never use added sugar and try to keep it all out of my diet as I have a raging sweet tooth too. Been working out on my treadmill three days now in a row–not losing anything but feel better about keeping my body in better shape. Thanks for the ideas. Going to stock up on the frozen fruit this weekend!

  2. Just yesterday I was thinking I needed to make smoothies. And here you are with a recipe! I do love Almond milk. Coconut, too. And, like yourself, have decided to watch sugar content of products I eat, and now everything tastes too sweet!

  3. When I first started to read this post, I thought you wrote, “Pour liquor into blender.” I was all, alrighty then! Then I read it again. I have not been a champion of smoothies, but I’ll give it another try as my personal trainer says I should. Now, I need a blender…

  4. Bahhahah, you’re such a hoot, Karen!

    It looks like our personal trainer is also a mind reader! One of my girls gave me a potentially ingenious (I haven’t tried it yet, so can’t recommend or condemn yet) non-electric, smoothie shakey doo dad thingy some time ago and I keep reminding myself to try it. Having this rather tasty sounding recipe delivered to my email box just in time for lunch is a pretty effective motivator :-)

  5. Thank you for this!!!! I love smoothies and have one every morning for breakfast!!!

    Shall at this wonderful recipe to my collection.

    Big Hug you inspirational woman!

Comments are closed.